Board of Directors

Thayaparan Sangarapillai

Thayaparan Sangarapillai
  • Senior Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Chairman of Governance & Audit Committee
  • Member of Risk Management & Sustainability Committee

Mr Thayaparan Sangarapillai, 68, a Malaysian, is a Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Sime Darby Berhad. He was appointed to the Board on 1 December 2017.

Mr Thayaparan has over 35 years of experience in providing audit and business advisory services to clients in a wide range of industries. His portfolio of clients included major public listed companies involved in power, telecommunications, automotive, property development, plantation, manufacturing and trading sectors. Mr Thayaparan has also led cross border assignments. Other than statutory audits, Mr Thayaparan has led assignments on financial due diligences, mergers & acquisitions, initial public offerings, finance function effectiveness reviews and other advisory work.

Mr Thayaparan joined Price Waterhouse (now known as PricewaterhouseCoopers) (PwC) in Kuala Lumpur in 1983. He was a Partner in the Assurance Services of PwC Malaysia from 1994 until his retirement as a Senior Partner in 2015.

Mr Thayaparan is currently a Director of Axiata Group Berhad. Previously, he served as a Director for Petroliam Nasional Berhad, Celcom Axiata Berhad, AIG Malaysia Berhad and Digi.Com Berhad (presently known as CelcomDigi Berhad) and Robi Axiata Limited.

Mr Thayaparan is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales. He is also a member of the Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Malaysian Institute of Accountants.

Directors’ Training and Continuous Education Programme Attended For The Financial Year Ended 30 June 2023
Why is Ethics & Compliance Important to Shell
PNB Knowledge Forum 2022- Tall Buildings and Living in the Space Age -The Enigma and Convergence of Science and Art
Petronas Board Conversation Series: A Session with John Morrison, Chief Executive, Institute for Human Rights & Business
Climate Risk & ESG Disclosure Key developments in 2023 and Deep Diving into Asia’s Reporting Trends
Malaysia’s Future in a Fractured World
Citibank: Understanding China
Boston Consulting Group: Forces Shaping China Automotive
How Digital Finance Changes Everything